Join our Email List - Participate in RRM Surveys Email:  
The world's leading information source for road race organizers and the industry that serves them
Road Race Management 

Road Race Management News


Members of Congress Hot on the Heels of the Administration

Media Plans to Be Close by While Avoiding Stepping on Any Toes

The 41st ACLI Capital Challenge three-mile run/walk will take place in Anacostia Park in Washington, D.C. at 8 a.m. on Wednesday, May 17. We are expecting dozens of teams will take part in the traditional invitational team battle between the Legislative, Executive and Judicial Branches and the media.

Since its inception in 1981, the race has played host to three U.S. Vice Presidents, several Presidential candidates, a Speaker of the House, Majority and Minority leaders of the Senate, three Supreme Court Justices, Cabinet Members, Olympic athletes and many members of the media.

Competition is limited to teams led by Senators, Representatives, Cabinet or Sub-Cabinet appointees, Agency Heads, Federal Judges, or TV, radio, print and web journalists. (Team captains must complete the course for their team to count.)

All entry fees and an additional donation from the race sponsors will be given to Junior Achievement USA to give young people the knowledge and skills they need to make positive choices, plan for their future, and achieve economic success. Junior Achievement programs serve more than 3.3 million students in all 50 states, providing relevant hands-on experiences that provide vital information related to financial education, work readiness and entrepreneurship.

“Entries are running ahead of last year as teams vie for bragging rights,” said Director Jeff Darman. “It will be a great race -- you can bank on it,” he added.

Many returning champions are entered, including Representative Mike Gallagher (R-WI), the five-time defending fastest man in Congress. Also returning is women’s Senate champ Kyrsten Sinema (I-AZ). They will be joined by Adam Longo (WUSA9), the fastest electronic journalist, and fastest Judges Florence Pan and Michael O’Keefe, who will be defending their titles. 2022 women’s winner Jen Maranzano from the Justice Department has also entered.

“We’re looking forward to seeing long-time runners like Rep. Gallagher and Sen. Sinema again for this Washington D.C. tradition,” said American Council of Life Insurers (ACLI) President and CEO Susan Neely. “And we can’t wait to see how many new competitors join us this year. Thanks to all of the participants in the ACLI Capital Challenge, we’re able to support Junior Achievement’s invaluable financial education initiatives for students across our nation.”

Dave McGillivray, long-time Boston Marathon race director and celebrated athlete, will be the 2023 celebrity runner. McGillivray first gained national prominence in 1978 for his Run Across America. He ran 3,452 miles over 80 consecutive days, averaging 45 miles per day, ending in Fenway Park to a standing ovation.

Some of his other accomplishments include the Empire State Building Run-Up, 86 stories in 13 minutes, 27 seconds; completing 9 Ironman Triathlons; and in 2018, completing the World Marathon Challenge, running 7 marathons in 7 days on 7 continents. He has run 165 marathons, including 50 consecutive Boston Marathons (with 35 run at night after his race director duties are fulfilled).

The American Council of Life Insurers, the race title sponsor, is the leading trade association driving public policy and advocacy on behalf of the life insurance industry. Ninety million American families rely on the life insurance industry for financial protection and retirement security. ACLI’s member companies are dedicated to protecting consumers’ financial wellbeing through life insurance, annuities, retirement plans, long-term care insurance, disability income insurance, reinsurance, and dental, vision and other supplemental benefits. ACLI’s 280 member companies represent 94 percent of industry assets in the United States.


The ACLI Capital Challenge not only recognizes the swiftest participants with awards for the Fastest Senator, Representative (Mike Synar Award), Independent Agency Head, Sub-Cabinet Appointee, Federal Judge and Journalist in male and female categories, but also rewards Teams with the Best Name and the Worst Name (James B. Kenin Award). There are also team awards for the Senate, House, Executive Branch, Judicial and Media (both Electronic and print/web categories).


Qualified teams may obtain information from Jeff Darman, Director ACLI Capital Challenge, at, (610.925.1976). Entries are available online at Entries will close April 23.


As usual there is spirited competition for the best and worst team name (James B. Kenin Award) honors. Some top contenders include:



Hot Mess     

Livin’, Laughin’, Levin

Ministry For the Future 

The IMPORT-ance of Running


News Travels Fast  

Reuters Dry Heaves 

Catch Me if You (Ali)Khan  

Worst Pace Scenario 



Senator Kyrsten Sinema (I-AZ)     

Representative Mike Levin (D-CA)

John Podesta, Senior Advisor to the President for

Clean Energy, Innovation, and


Jason Kearns, Commissioner; International Trade


Mark Satter, CQ/Roll Call

Andy Sullivan, Reuters News

Judge Loren AliKhan, DC Court of Appeals

Judge Vijay Shanker, DC Court of Appeals

After the race, runners will enjoy a continental breakfast courtesy of ACLI. Sponsors in addition to ACLI are: Akin Gump, Allianz, Boston Mutual, Brighthouse Financial, Canada Life Re, Corebridge Financial, Global Atlantic Financial Group, Guardian, Hannover Re, Invariant, Jackson, John Hancock, MetLife, Nationwide, New York Life, Northwestern Mutual, OneAmerica, Pacific Life, Penn Mutual, Primerica, Principal, Protective, Prudential, RGA, Sammons Financial, Security Benefit, Swiss Re, Thrivent Financial, Transamerica, Unum, USAA, Voya, and media sponsor CQ/Roll Call.


Disclaimer: This document was written by a human.